top of page

ADAPTOGENIC MUSHROOM COFFEE ELIXIR



I’ve had a pretty harmful relationship with caffeine...


I've used it as a stimulant to push through fatigue.


I've abused it by drinking countless coffee's a day to the point of anxiety.


I've increased my dosage to try and feel the same energy-boosting effects once my body has become accustomed to its daily dose.


I've experienced brain fog, jitters, agitation, heart palpitations (yes seriously), the list goes on...


I knew it was affecting me badly, yet I was addicted to it.


This is exactly how caffeine should NOT be consumed!


Science shows that coffee and other caffeinated beverages, such as energy drinks & sodas can have a negative impact on the female ecosystem. It can lead to the development of cysts in ovaries & breasts, it can interfere with the metabolism of oestrogen, and it can reduce fertility rates and this is all down to the fact that it increases cortisol levels and stresses the adrenals, which interferes with ovulation.


Read more about the effects caffeine has on your hormones in this post!


But after cutting down and eventually drinking decaf during my HA recovery period, I've slowly started to incorporate coffee back into my day but the right way! Because...


Life is here to be enjoyed, fill it with things that bring you happiness and if that’s coffee then I feel you gurl!

This magical potion never causes my adrenalin to rush, it never leaves me feeling wired and tired and I have SO much energy to burn through all day.

The secret = @foursigmatic apoptogenic mushroom + 1 tbsp. collagen peptides + 1 tsp MCT oil.



Adding a little protein and fat to your coffee will also stop that unwanted caffeine spike and crash and make a dreamy, creamy, healthy coffee that is beyond delicious. I mix 1tsp MCT oil I use this brand (but coconut oil/butter will also work) and 1tbsp Collagen Peptides I use this brand to my coffee, give it a whiz in the blender and, just like that, it's packed full of healthy fats that give you a superior source of energy and improved mental clarity and all the incredible benefits of collagen!


This is not a meal replacement or a bulletproof coffee!


If you’re still not convinced, see below for all the amazing benefits of MCT oil:

  1. Instant Energy– Due to its ability to be broken down and absorbed by the body rather quickly, MCT oil provides an instant energy kick.

  2. Brain Health– A good percentage of your brain is made up of fatty acids. In order to keep your brain running properly and stay sharp as you age, it’s a good idea to include healthy fats into your diet. Medium-chain triglycerides are believed to be one of the best.

  3. Hormone Balance– Fats play an important role in the production and balance of hormones. MCT oil is shown to support healthy hormone levels in the body.

  4. Heart Protection– Research has shown that MCT oil can help prevent metabolic syndrome. By preventing metabolic syndrome, people are less likely to become obese and therefore have a decreased risk for developing cardiovascular disease.

  5. Digestion– MCT oil can serve multiple purposes in the digestive system. One, it is great at balancing bacteria in the gut. Two, it allows fat-soluble nutrients to be absorbed and utilized by the body.


  
Tip – ALWAYS hydrate before you caffeinate! Especially if you're used to reaching for a cup as soon as you wake up. Your body is dehydrated after fasting all night and coffee is a diuretic, which means it will dehydrate you further. A glass of room temp water or a fresh lemon & ginger tea beforehand is great on the digestive system and this way, you’ll begin your day feeling way more focused and clear-headed.  



Enjoy,

Charlotte x

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page